• Sun. Dec 10th, 2023

3 months left. But Albirex Niigata are 2018 champions.

Jul 22, 2018 ,

After only 18 rounds of matches, Singapore’s inaugural Singapore Premier League champions have been crowned. 

On 22 July at the Toa Payoh Stadium, Albirex Niigata sealed the championship after a 1-1 draw against Balestier Khalsa.

The draw meant that the White Swans had enough points to seal the championship, as their nearest challengers Tampines Rovers will not be able to match the points tally even if they win all their remaining matches.

The title is Albirex Niigata’s third in a row in Singapore.

Also, no Singapore club has won the highest honours since 2015, when DPMM of Brunei picked up the title.

Speaking to media reporters after the match in Toa Payoh, Albirex Niigata coach Kazuagi Yoshinaga said: “We set out to win every game and today we did not win, so we did not achieve what we wanted to do.

“We only needed a draw to be champions, but we couldn’t get the win so there is some regrets.

“We are happy to clinch the title, this is our club’s 15th anniversary and all these years have been spent building up our foundation for what we are achieving right now.”


Photo: Albirex Niigata Singapore


Related Post