• Wed. Nov 29th, 2023

Current world number one para-archer Nur Syahidah Alim and swimmer Toh Wei Soong among six who have been selected for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics.

Jun 18, 2021 ,

The Singapore National Paralympic Council (SNPC) has selected the first six para-athletes for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games.

The six selected athletes include Paralympic Games multi-medallist and two world record holder, Yip Pin Xiu and current world-ranked number one para-archer, Nur Syahidah Alim, shot-putter Muhammad Diroy (main photo) and debutants Steve Tee Wee Leong, Sophie Soon Jin Wen and Toh Wei Soong.

In addition, Singapore has qualified for a team slot in Equestrian and the names of the selected athletes will be announced at a later date, said the SNPC in a statement.

Nur Syahidah Alim said, “I feel blessed to be selected for the Paralympic Games. 

“This is a proud moment in my journey as an athlete. 

“This would not have been possible without the support of my team. 

“I will continue to train hard, do my best to achieve extraordinary feats and make Singapore proud at the Games.”

Shot-putter Muhammad Diroy will be making his second Paralympics appearance at the coming games.

Toh had previously won Singapore’s first para swimming medal at the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Swimmers Toh and Soon will be joining Yip at the Tokyo Aquatics Centre, while para cyclist Tee will be racing at the famed Izu Velodrome with his pilot, Ang Kee Meng.

Said Toh, “This has been a journey eight years in the making and to be able to make my debut at the Paralympic Games is a dream come true. 

“All the blood, sweat and tears have finally paid off. 

“I would like to dedicate this to my family, friends, coaches, and the sports organisations who have helped me for years, as well as everyone else who has supported me along the way. I want to do my best for Singapore and hopefully inspire others to start their own impossible.”

The Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games will begin about two weeks after the Olympic Games, on 24 August 2021. 

Selection for the games will run till 30 July 2021.

Photos: SNPC and Edwin Tong’s Facebook

Related Post