• Wed. Nov 29th, 2023

DPMM FC out of 2021 season which starts on 13 March.

Feb 23, 2021 ,

The 2019 Singapore Premier League champions are out of the 2021 season.

On 23 February, the Football Association of Singapore released its fixtures for the 2021 season, with eight participating teams.

The first set of matches will be held on 13 March with the Lion City Sailors taking on Tampines Rovers, and with 2020 defending champions Albirex Niigata facing off against Hougang United. 

According to the FAS, DPMM FC informed the FAS that they have to withdraw due to COVID-19 travel restrictions.

“Both parties made significant efforts to explore mutually satisfactory arrangements for DPMM’s participation in the League, but it is unfortunate that these did not work out. 

“While the situation is unfortunate, the FAS appreciates that DPMM has done everything possible to resume its place in the SPL but has to abide by Brunei’s national policies set out to contain the virus,” said the FAS in its statement.

“DPMM remains an integral part of the SPL and we look forward to welcoming them back next season,” the FAS said.

The FAS also announced that the Community Shield will be held on 19 June, with Albirex facing off against Tampines Rovers.

Matches for the new season will be held behind closed doors for now, said the FAS.

“The FAS will review this in consultation with the relevant authorities as the season progresses.  

“Fans will still be able to catch the action LIVE as every match will be broadcast on Singtel TV and StarHub TV as well as streamed online via the SPL Facebook and Youtube pages,” it said.

Photo: DPMM FC