• Sun. Dec 3rd, 2023

Only 8 out of 28 players are from the SPL clubs.

Oct 7, 2021 ,

28 players have been selected by coaches Nazri Nasir and Philippe Aw for the upcoming Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Under-23 Asian Cup 2022 qualifying campaign. 

Of the squad of 28, 20 of the players are from the Young Lions. 

Players from Albirex Niigata (2), Tampines Rovers (3), Lion City Sailors (2) and Hougang United (1) make up the other eight players who have been named to the squad of 28.


23 players will make the final cut for the qualifiers, to b decided after a week of centralised training.

Singapore will begin their Group H campaign against Timor Leste on 25 October, and will face off against Philippines and Korea Republic thereafter. 

Singapore U22 Head Coach Nazri Nasir said, “This team has been picked after looking at all the eligible players’ displays during the Singapore Premier League season and of course in extensive consultation with my assistant Philippe Aw, who has worked very closely with the Young Lions as their Head Coach this year.

“During this upcoming centralised training, we will further emphasise on the philosophy we have adapted for the boys to execute since the previous centralised training. 


“We will also be looking at players who have good character, both in and outside the field. Of course, a winning mentality is very important, especially as these boys have not played international tournaments for a while; this is where we will look at how hungry they are to fight for a place in the final squad.

“Everyone will have the chance to prove their worth during the training sessions and again, we want to emphasise that possessing the right mentality is important, along with their playing abilities and understanding of our playing philosophies.”


A total of 11 groups from both the West and East Zone will contest the qualifiers.

The group winners and four best second-placed teams set to advance to the final stage. 

The AFC U23 Asian Cup 2022, the fifth edition of the tournament, will be held in Uzbekistan in June 2022.


Singapore has never qualified for the final tournament so far. 

The list of 28 players and their clubs are listed below.

1Dylan Pereira SinghGK31-Jul-00Young Lions
2Martyn MunGK7-Jan-00Young Lions
3Ridhwan FikriGK29-Apr-99Young Lions
4Amirul HaikalDF11-Oct-99Tampines Rovers
5Danish IrfanDF10-Mar-99Young Lions
6Jacob MahlerDF10-Apr-00Young Lions
7Jordan EmaviweDF9-Apr-01Young Lions
8Nazhiim HarmanDF2-Mar-99Young Lions
9Nur Adam AbdullahDF13-Apr-01Lion City Sailors
10Raoul SuhaimiDF18-Sep-05Young Lions
11Ryaan SanizalDF31-May-02Tampines Rovers
12Ryhan StewartDF15-Feb-00Young Lions
13Arshad ShamimMF9-Dec-99Young Lions
14Daniel GohMF13-Aug-99Young Lions
15Farhan ZulkifliMF10-Nov-02Hougang United
16Harhys StewartMF20-Mar-01Young Lions
17Jared GallagherMF18-Jan-02Young Lions
18Joel ChewMF9-Feb-00Young Lions
19Marc Ryan TanMF18-Jan-02Tampines Rovers
20Ong Yu EnMF3-Oct-03Albirex Niigata (S)
21Rezza RezkyMF8-Nov-00Young Lions
22Saifullah AkbarMF31-Jan-99Lion City Sailors
23Shah ShahiranMF14-Nov-99Young Lions
24Zamani ZamriMF31-May-01Young Lions
25Fikri JunaidiFW2-Apr-00Albirex Niigata (S)
26Glenn KwehFW26-Mar-00Young Lions
27Khairin NadimFW8-May-04Young Lions
28Zikos ChuaFW15-Apr-02Young Lions

Main Photos: Football Association of Singapore

Related Post